New man at the helm for Deloitte

Deloitte’s new Midlands practice senior partner Chris Loughran (right) with Richard Edwards, who is stepping down after five years at the helm

One of Birmingham’s most senior business figures is stepping down after more than five years at the helm of Deloitte, the leading professional services firm.

Richard Edwards, who heads up the firm’s Midlands practice, which includes offices in Birmingham, Nottingham and Cambridge, will step down as Midlands practice senior partner (PSP) in June and will retire from the firm in November.

Mr Edwards has been a partner at Deloitte for more than 20 years, the majority of which have been spent working in Birmingham. Prior to his appointment as Midlands PSP in 2005, he was head of regions for the firm’s Transaction Services division.

Last year Mr Edwards was elected to the Board of Deloitte.

In 2008/09, he was appointed as the chairman of business and professional services group Birmingham Forward and is a board member of Marketing Birmingham.

Mr Edwards said: “I have thoroughly enjoyed my career at Deloitte and particularly my role as PSP for the Midlands. I will be sad to leave. Our Midlands practice is in good shape and I would like to thank all our people for their terrific support.  However, having spent five years as head of the Midlands, I felt the time was right for me to hand on the baton.

“I will continue to follow the progress of the firm as it moves forward under new leadership and I wish my successor all the very best in his new role. I know I am leaving the practice in very good hands.

“Post November, I’m looking forward to taking some time off, during which I will be weighing up my options and considering what to do next. Whatever it is, I hope to be doing it in Birmingham.”

Taking over as Midlands PSP from Mr Edwards will be Chris Loughran.  Mr Loughran joined the firm (then Touche Ross) in Birmingham in 1987, having spent the early part of his career in systems development at Lucas, in Birmingham and Cannock.

After working in and around the Midlands as part of the embryonic consulting business, Mr Loughran was admitted to partnership in 1993. Two years later he moved to London, where he worked with a variety of large national and international clients.

In 2002, he took over the leadership of the Deloitte team working for Transport for London on the development and implementation of the groundbreaking London congestion charge and, since 2003, has led Deloitte’s Technology Consulting practice which has grown to be a £100m business and a key part of Deloitte’s consulting services.

Mr Loughran said: “I am thrilled to be returning to Birmingham and excited at the prospect of building on the tremendous platform that Richard Edwards and his predecessors have established.  We have a great team here in the Midlands and I am looking forward to reacquainting myself with the local market. 

“Some things will change, but much will remain the same: we shall continue to recruit and retain the best people and strive to attract and serve the highest-quality clients from across the region.” 

Mr Loughran lives in Knowle, Solihull, with his wife Jane and their six children.

