Judges give final verdict on winners

(L-R): Passing their verdict on this year’s Legal Awards winners were His Honour Judge William Davis QC, Professor Bernardette Griffin and Kevin Martin.

With just over a week to go, the judges of the Birmingham Law Society Legal Awards 2010 have given their final verdict on who will be crowned this year’s winners.

Having considered the evidence, the judging panel, chaired by Kevin Martin, former president of the national Law Society, has chosen the winners in the ten individual categories. Fifty finalists were short-listed in total. 

Other judges on the panel include Professor Bernardette Griffin, centre director at the College of Law, Birmingham, His Honour Judge William Davis QC and Her Honour Judge Estella Hindley QC.

The ten awards up for grabs on the night are Legal Executive of the Year; Trainee Solicitor of the Year; Assistant/Associate Solicitor of the Year; Commercial Solicitor of the Year; Private Client Solicitor of the Year; International Solicitor of the Year; and Barrister of the Year. There are also three firm awards – Law Firm of the Year (sole practitioners and firms up to four partners); Law Firm of the Year (five – 15 partners); and Law Firm of the Year (16 plus partners).  

Mr Martin, who chaired last year’s judging panel, said: “The exceedingly high standard of this year’s entrants was quite remarkable, and all should be congratulated for their hard work and effort during the past 12 months“In what has been a difficult year for the legal sector, as it has been for many business sectors, all of the finalists demonstrated the key attributes and skills needed to succeed in such times, and can be proud of their achievements, both individually and collectively.” 

Bernard Shepherd, president of Birmingham Law Society, said: “We want the awards to be as fair and transparent as possible and having an independent panel of judges ensures this happens. Collectively the panel has a wealth of legal knowledge and experience and I’m confident that the winners they have chosen are all deserved in their own right.”

The 2010 Legal Awards winners will be announced on 25 March at a glittering ceremony at the ICC, at which more than 500 people are expected to attend. Money raised from a raffle on the night will be donated to the Society’s nominated charity, The Variety Club.

Event sponsors include DX Group (main sponsor), Chiltern Railways, The College of Law, Deloitte, Giles Insurance Brokers, Landmark Information Group, Stratstone Lotus, Severn Trent Searches, St Philips Chambers and Wesleyan for Lawyers.

Birmingham City Council Legal Services and No5 Chambers are also supporting the event.

%d bloggers like this: